Lately I have been loving the hydrating and healing effects of Vitamin E oil (tocopherol).  I enjoy concocting my own aromatherapy bath and body products and I often use Vitamin E oil as the carrier oil in my homemade products.  Carrier oils are used to “carry” essential oils into the skin.  Recently I made my own salt scrub using Dead Sea Salt I purchased from the Herb Store in Nob Hill and mixed it with Vitamin E oil and lavender essential oil for a soothing and feminine aroma.  I also apply Vitamin E oil directly on my face and body on a regular basis for ultimate moisturizing  benefits.  I alternate essential oil scents depending on my mood or skincare need at the time.  My favorites are Lavender and Rose, both non-irritating and ideal for soothing sensitive skin.

Vitamin E penetrates deep below the skin’s surface to repair and rejuvenate damaged skin cells.  It is also ideal for minimizing the appearance of scarring, sun damage, and wrinkles.  Vitamin E is a natural antioxidant and serves as a defense against bacterial infections and helps to heal cuts and other skin abrasions and is often referred to as nature’s healing agent.  Because Vitamin E has the ability to delay the conversion of soluble collagen to insoluble collagen (which is responsible for scar formation), this is a great topical to apply to minimize stretch marks while pregnant.

 

